Conference Program

The conference takes place between September 27th and September 29th, 2017.

The program can be found attached:

Opening lecture


Prof. Charles James Kirkpatrick

University Medical Center, Mainz, Germany

Prof. Charles James Kirkpatrick has a triple doctorate in science and medicine (MD, PhD, DSc) from the Queen’s University of Belfast and is emeritus Professor of Pathology at the University Medical Center in Mainz, Germany. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists (FRCPath), London, and has honorary and visiting professorships in China, Singapore and Sweden. Since 2016 he is Senior Professor at the Medical Faculty of the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt. He is author/co-author of 520 publications in peer-reviewed journals and has given more than 500 invited lectures at scientific meetings worldwide. His principal research interests are in the field of biomaterials in tissue engineering and regenerative medicine, with special focus on the development of human cell culture techniques, especially in three-dimensional co-culture systems.

Title of lecture: Developing cellular models for NanoMedicine

Keynote speakers


Prof. Lucy Di Silvio

King’s College London, England


Prof. Mizuo Maeda

University of Tokyo, Japan

Prof. Mizuo Maeda received his Ph.D. from the University of Tokyo (1983). He was an assistant professor at the University of Tokyo (1983-1988), an associate professor at Kyushu University (1988-1995), and then a professor of materials physics and chemistry at Kyushu University (1995-2001). He is now a chief scientist, a director of Bioengineering laboratory in RIKEN (2001-), and is a professor in the Department of Advanced Materials Science at the University of Tokyo (2006-). His research interests center on polymer chemistry, analytical chemistry, and biomaterials science. He received many famous awards including the Award of the Society of Polymer Science, Japan (2005), the Chemical Society of Japan Award for Creative Work (2009), the Award of Japanese Society of Biomaterials (2011), and the Award of the Japan Society for Analytical Chemistry (2014).


Prof. Diego Mantovani

Laval University, Quebec, Canada


Prof. Abhay Pandit

National University of Ireland Galway (NUI), Ireland

Prof. Abhay Pandit is an Established Professor of Biomaterials at the National University of Ireland, Galway. He is the Scientific Director of the Centre for Research in Medical Devices (CÚRAM), a multi-disciplinary academic-industry-clinician translational research centre funded by Science Foundation Ireland (E49M). His research interests’ focus on the development of next generation targeted controlled-drug-release reservoir delivery vehicles which facilitate spatiotemporal localized sustained delivery of multiple biomolecules to target injury mechanisms at the molecular and cellular levels. These macromolecular complexes form functional interfaces between implanted devices and biological systems to endow the former with bio-responsiveness and/or biological function. He has published over 210 papers in peer reviewed journals. He is a Fellow of the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative International Society and an International Fellow in Biomaterials Science and Engineering – the first Irish academic to receive this honour.

Hugo Thienpont

Prof. Hugo Thienpont

Faculty of Engineering of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB), Belgium

Prof. Hugo Thienpont coordinates the Brussels Photonics Team of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel, a group of 60 researchers that focuses on photonics research and innovation. He coordinates large European networking projects to support SME’s with photonics innovations. Since 2012 he is Vice-Chancellor for innovation and industrial policy at Vrije Universiteit Brussel.

Elzbieta Pamula

Prof. Elzbieta Pamula

AGH University of Science and Technology, Kraków, Poland

Elzbieta Pamula

Prof. Aleksandr Ovsianikov

Institute of Materials Science and Technology, TU Wien, Austria

Elzbieta Pamula

Prof. Joelle Amedée

Tissue Bioengineering, University of Bordeaux, France

Elzbieta Pamula

Prof. Michael Gelinsky

Medical Faculty and University Hospital, TU Dresden, Germany